Just ask for help!

What a week it has been!  We finally got some snow here in Hays, America. Most people that really know me, know that I am not a fan of winter. I hate being cold!  But this year I have found myself praying for snow!  The timing of the blizzard here was almost perfect too.  I was just on the brink of a mental break down because I just needed a break from life for a little bit.  Between traveling and working and the stress of traveling in bad weather, and sick kids, multiple trips to the doctor, worrying about my teenage son driving on snowy and icy roads, getting homework all done and turned in (which seems to be a bigger problem some days than the actual getting done of the homework), getting all my paperwork caught up….ok, so you get my point. Finally on Tuesday, God decided to give me a day off, and for a few hours, he literally told me to sit down and stop doing STUFF.

What else does a working mom do when she gets a day off of work (most of the day anyway), and the kids are home from school? Well, housework and laundry and business agendas and develop new ideas for work and help kids with homework…..that is until the electricity goes out!!!!   I was literally forced to unplug for awhile. Yes, I did have my phone and Facebook handy, but was walking a dangerously fine line of Facebook vs. Dead phone and no way to charge it. Can’t do homework because there is no wifi and all the homework is now done on an IPAD.  Can’t even watch netflix!!!!!

Thankfully, I had a 53% charge on my kindle. But with no wifi, I couldn’t download any new books that would rot my brain for the next few hours. So I went through my choices that I already had on there, but had never gotten to. And one jumped out at me, I started reading “Daring Greatly,” by Brene Brown.  Unfortunately,  I have not gotten as far into it as I would have liked, but what I have read so far has already got me thinking.   The main word that keeps coming back to slap me in the face is “vulnerability.”

As the person that generally has to “take care of everything,” I forget sometimes that I am allowed to be vulnerable.  That maybe I should show that vulnerability a little more often, and prove that yes I am a human, and I need help from other people! What is the point of making myself anxious, and sick and stressed and exhausted by trying to do everything myself.  I should not feel bad about asking for help!  It’s time to get over feeling inadequate or like I’m failing, just because I ask someone to do something for me.

People ask for my help ALL DAY LONG! And I happily and graciously help people all day long. That’s what I was put on this earth to do!  That is what we were all put here to do. Some of us have to help each other in different ways based on our physical abilities, our knowledge and education, and our interests.   I certainly wouldn’t ask my office manager to repair my car!

So when you have pain down your leg, or debilitating migraines, or neck pain that is keeping you from getting a good night’s sleep,  or pain in your TMJ, or hip and knee pain, ASK FOR HELP!  Stop trying to deal with things all on your own. Stop thinking that “maybe it will go away!”  Ask a professional that has the knowledge to help you with your problems. Don’t let your uncle Tom, the mechanic, diagnose your low back pain, let him fix your car when it’s not running right!  And don’t avoid asking for help just because your insurance doesn’t pay for it, or doesn’t pay for most of it!

Find someone you trust to help you with  the things that you need help with. And then LET THEM DO IT!  Let them do what they know how to do.

Ok, I am going to go now and ask weight watchers what I should have for breakfast!

Call the office today and we will help you!!  785-628-3622

Leave a comment